PDA

View Full Version : attics in seasons


abel1980
12th Mar 2007, 7:47 AM
I think seasons changed how to build attics. This is especially important as it is now essential, that any room in the house is considered to be inside.

IŽll try to explain the differences I noticed. I hope IŽll do everything right as I have never posted a picture before.

This is how attics used to work:

http://img86.imageshack.us/img86/5793/simsel0.png

As long as those two walls were added the attic was considered to be inside. The walls that were created by the roof tool were usable as regular walls. The only annoyance was that wallpaper would cover the whole wall created by the roof.

With seasons the walls created by the roof tool are no longer considered valid walls. In other words an attic like I build in the picture is no longer considered to be inside. It is outside, but covered. That means light snow will cover anything in the attic. No heavy snow, as it is covered by the roof. But sims will get hot and cold as if they were outside.

http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/9111/sims3cv9.png

An indoor attic is still easy to build though. Maybe you all were allready doing this, because of the wallpaper, but I wasnŽt and thought IŽd share.

First build the attic like I did. Then you have to delete all walls created by the roof-tool, that are higher than the default wall height. Like this:

http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/8516/unbenanntjc8.png

Than add regular walls. Those will not line up with roof of course.

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/9228/bildww1.png

But this is easily fixable by adding a smaller roof on top. Just choose the same rooftype and cover only the part were the walls are missing. It doesnŽt matter, that there is already a roof, this will just add the missing wall parts. This way the attic is considered to be inside. Notice the gridlines on top of the walls, I deleted and added.

http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/9849/roofontophl6.png

I hope this werenŽt too many pictures. I hope this helps someone, who used to build attics the way I did. They are more expensive this way of course, because you have to use so many regular walls, but they are inside and your sims donŽt have to freeze. I used this in a little house for the Ottomas family in seasons. They had so many kids and so little money, that I needed an attic, in which the kids wouldnŽt freeze with the long winter they have in Riverblossom Hills. :)

Inge Jones
12th Mar 2007, 9:55 AM
Thanks for the tip - but how silly that we have to do all this!

patul
12th Mar 2007, 9:59 AM
Thanks abel, I noticed that...I must rebuild some lots, Your tip will be helpful :up:

Zhaana
12th Mar 2007, 2:28 PM
Thanks to letting us know the new problem with Seasons and thanks for the tip ;)

plasticbox
12th Mar 2007, 10:38 PM
This is very useful, thanks for posting! Particularly for late adopters like me who won't have Seasons for a while.

If anyone feels like checking this out, I'd be rather curious if this kind of attic: http://www.modthesims2.com/member/showthread.php?t=156028 still works in Seasons? (I think it should, since it has walls all around, but you never know)

This house for example is built like that:
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=137367

Anyone?

patul
12th Mar 2007, 11:08 PM
I tried with a lot build with the 'bigger attic" , it works fine.

plasticbox
13th Mar 2007, 12:33 AM
Thanks patul! =)

niol
13th Mar 2007, 7:13 AM
The "problem" has already been around by default since the base game.
With the roof tools, building roofs with down-to-bottomline roofs always results in unclosed rooms for that partition level.

The phenomenon is that all the sides when the roof-tool roofs head down to the bottomline of the corresponding partition level are lack of corresponding attic walls to close the rooms.

An another solution can be found.
here (http://www.modthesims2.com/showpost.php?p=1552802&postcount=12)

Due to the way how plasticbox builds the bigger attic roofs, the rooms are all closed for the accessible regions as well as the whole part is under the roof-tool roof. So, I assume there shouldn't be any snow, rain, hail get under the roof-tool roof or inside the closed rooms. However, the regions outside the room but still covered by the roof will still be treated as outside in terms of the game-play probably despite no snow, rain, hail, etc... :rolleyes:

Full-height plain floor-tiled roof or the roof-tool roofs are presently the known responsible barriers for graphic effects like snow, rain, hail, or more...
Closed rooms are responsible for the game-play ethnics to define where is inside or outside.
When the 2 mix together, we can have their overlapping possibilities, covered outside and uncovered inside...

abel1980,
please do keep this thread coz it helps show things out to fill the gap for issues about attic walls. Your thread is definitely appreciated.... :anime:


Added:

http://www.modthesims2.com/showpost.php?p=1601216&postcount=340
http://www.modthesims2.com/showpost.php?p=1602071&postcount=345

Linkage for roof and attic things:

A. build feature tutorials/hints/tips:
Bigger attics
http://www.modthesims2.com/member/showthread.php?t=156028
roof Attic walls
http://www.modthesims2.com/showpost.php?p=1552802&postcount=12

1. weather-related (snow, hail, rain, outside or inside)
attics in seasons [abel1980]
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=223637
Info box indicating weather state @ build mode
http://www.modthesims2.com/showpost.php?p=1668957&postcount=6
seasons and roofing
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=233485
Sims freezing in a Maxis house
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=244718

2. cheat helps:
RESOURCE: Helpful roof slope angles
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=228157

3. build feature helps:
How Do I Make This Roooooof?
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=232043
Roof Won't Fit?? Help anyone?
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=185663
%$%*$( ROOF &(*&*__^$
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=243574/url]

sgcase
25th Mar 2007, 1:31 AM
I've been using plasticbox's technique :bunny: for increased attic space (I have season's). Instead of making the dummy wall 6 clicks high, I've been going 8 clicks. This makes ALL the space usable with no internal walls. Objects can be placed along the outer walls and are usable (no windows, pictures or other wall hangings though) but if the object is higher than the wall it will bleed through the roof.

Once the roof is in place, using the "boolprop constrainfloorelevation" cheat you can add a internal wall at the gable end which will force the outside wall up to normal height for window placement. I've used this process in a small 6X6 attic and am able to add two windows to the room. I haven't figured out how to add dormers with out roof hiccups. 6X6 maybe too small?

So far no snow or rain or other unwanted weather in my new home! I'd post a picture but I'm on my work computer.

Nahele
22nd Jun 2007, 2:09 PM
argh i searched so long now for this tut, already knew it but couldn't remember where it was ^^ that's a nice, easy trick to build the attic, my teen child lives there and she get's cold while being in her room... i play this family without cheats ^^ so i needed a cheap way to fix this prob ;) thanks for making this tutorial!

rebelious
26th Jun 2007, 12:07 PM
nice to know though I don't build attics. but have seasons and if i thouht about I thank you