PDA

View Full Version : Make eyes using the Gimp?


bethbrit2001
27th Feb 2007, 12:58 PM
Hey I hope thisisn't in the wrong place :]
I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction to a tutorial in making eyes with The GIMP.
I've had a look around here to no avail, so my last resort was asking :]
Thanks in advance :]
Beth x

kalynn06
27th Feb 2007, 2:54 PM
Hey Beth,

I'm not sure there is one specifically using the Gimp. I have made eyes with the Gimp though and when starting from scratch, I've found the tutorial (http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=56359) to be very helpful, even though it's in Photoshop. I've learned to be pretty good at translating and adapting these, since the Gimp has most of the tools they're just in strange places

Just a few quick and incomplete notes in converting the tutorial linked above(if you already know these, sorry, just ignore it :) ):

*Instead of using one layer and filling it with my colors I make four layers of decreasing size, and then just fill each with a different color, center them like in the pics and then Go to Image -> Merge Visible Layers. The proceed normally

*"Wind" is found Under Filters -> Distorts -> Wind

*To invert: you use Layers -> Colors -> Invert

*When changing the canvas size, first make sure you only change width (not height like I did the first time I did this) and then sadly you can't just select "center right" like they did in the tutorial, but once you resize and center (by clicking the "center button" it you can select offsets (play with the numbers here they should be around 24 for the first and -48 for the second)

*Rotate the image CW is under Image-> Transform -> Rotae 90 degrees CW

* Poloar Coordinates is under Filters -> Distorts -Poloar Coords

*I like the effect of using Overlay and Grain Merge when doing duplicate layers and blend modes as suggested in the end of this and then playing with the opacities of these.

*HP has a good suggestion a few posts down to get the eyes even better looking. I didn't use it due to laziness on the eye below, but I have used it before and the results are great!

Anyway for what it's worth here's a pic of the eye I made quickly while trying to remember some of the differences with Gimp :)
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m193/kalynn06/eye1.jpg


Clear as mud? Hopefully it helped a little and feel free to ask. I'm not an expert, but I use Gimp a lot (even with my new copy of PS Elements- I'm used to it now). Good Luck :)

bethbrit2001
27th Feb 2007, 3:52 PM
Hey!
Thank you so much for the reply!
Yeah that's the tute I was looking at, but unfortunately my brain went blank when i began reading lol.
I'll do my best and see ifanything good comes out of it :]
I'll post in this topic if I have anymore questions :]
Again, thank you!

Edit : I'm having a few problems while doing it now.
For some reason when I clicked invert, my image turned purple :S
Also, I can't seem to find where to adjusty the brightness and contrast.
Eek!

bethbrit2001
27th Feb 2007, 6:43 PM
I'm kinda having a problem. I followed the steps, but for some reason ended up with this.
What have I done?

kalynn06
27th Feb 2007, 8:21 PM
Hmm...did you rotate the image before you did polar coordinates? It looks like maybe there is a problem with that step?

Or your problem could be entirely my fault if you used my offsets since they're messed up; they should be something like -24 and 48; yikes! I was having a moment, sorry.

And you probably answered your own other questions by now, but just in case:
Brightness and Contrast is under Layer -> Color -> Brightness and Contrast

and when you invert it should turn a funny color, that's why you invert again to get your own colors back :)

Okay back to work; having something I need to finish is a guarantee that I'll read posts on here all day !

bethbrit2001
28th Feb 2007, 2:25 AM
Hmm...did you rotate the image before you did polar coordinates? It looks like maybe there is a problem with that step?

Or your problem could be entirely my fault if you used my offsets since they're messed up; they should be something like -24 and 48; yikes! I was having a moment, sorry.

And you probably answered your own other questions by now, but just in case:
Brightness and Contrast is under Layer -> Color -> Brightness and Contrast

and when you invert it should turn a funny color, that's why you invert again to get your own colors back :)

Okay back to work; having something I need to finish is a guarantee that I'll read posts on here all day !

Aha! Maybe that's something I missed, rotating it, thanks!
And yep, after much searching I found them in the end :D
Thanks for your help too, I very much appreciate it :]
*gives a cookie*

Simguy182
28th Feb 2007, 4:37 AM
The result you got could have been for not rotating the image CW, or not having the right settings in polar coords, or other. Check the tutorial and see if you missed anything ;)

Indeed, playing with the filters, tools and others can be quiet useful. I usually make the stripes in the beggining in paint as im lazy to do it in GIMP. Most of the time, rather than making color stripes and using wind, what i do is add a clouds filter instead. Filters > Render > Clouds > Solid Noise (or something like that, my GIMP is in spanish as im in Mexico). Add several clouds with high detail (15), be proportionate and add as cliuds you want and what you think looks good. Once ive got my clouds, i add some noise. The settings i put on noise are 50 on the first bar and 3 on the second (sorry about not knowing the english names of those :( )

Then i use Motion blur instead of wind on both directions, motion blur can get you an even better effect. THe settings i use are low: with angle being 0 at first, and distance (or lenght, something like that :| ) low, about 7 or 8 should do. Then repeat to the other side (change angle to 180). Sharpen a little (not much or else it will look bad, arround 50 should do). Since clouds are gray, use Colorize to add the color you want.

Here are some i just did:

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g274/Simguy182/eye1.jpg Clouds and Wind filter used

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g274/Simguy182/eye2.jpg Clouds and motion filter used

Using the second one, i got this eye once done:

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g274/Simguy182/eye22.jpg

GIMP doesnt have a tool to add lens flare like PSP, you can use some of the lighting effects like the super Nova, but i preffer to make a new layer, draw some reflections with a sharp edge brush and then use Gaussian blur.

Follow some of the tips added on that tutorial (by HP i think), feather mixed with hue/sat or colorize can be really good. Following the tutorial and using the stripes and wind can also be good to get some nice effects with colors that are hard to get with clouds and motion B, so its just a matter of experimenting ;)

bethbrit2001
28th Feb 2007, 3:01 PM
Oooo!
Thank you so much Simguy!
I wll certainly take up your tips and appreciate them :D

bethbrit2001
28th Feb 2007, 3:35 PM
Sorry to double post again.
What am I changing t0 24 and -48, as when i try to change the X axis to 24 and the Y axis to -48, the -48 goes back to a 0 and nothing changes :[

Simguy182
28th Feb 2007, 9:42 PM
you dont need to change the Y axis at any moment when changing the canvas size, the Y axis is vertical and X is horizontal (coordinates). The first time you change the canvas with from 36 to 48, you dont need to change the X or Y displacement at all as the new 12 pixels will be added to the right (which is what you want).

The second time (changing width to 96) you need to change the X axis to -48 in order for the new 48 pixels to be added to the left. Since you are not changing the height the Y axis always resets. So ignore the Y axis ;)

bethbrit2001
1st Mar 2007, 3:07 AM
Hey again simguy, thanks for replying, but I still dont get it, haha, I'm not the brightest of the bunch.
I made another eye, but I don't understand why it turned out like this, could I have some more advice.
Will now pay more cookies if required :P

Simguy182
1st Mar 2007, 3:40 AM
Hm, thats odd. Make sure that before you do the polar coords the image is in a size of 96x96 like this:

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g274/Simguy182/eyetest1.jpg

If you have problems when changing the canvas size make sure these are the settings you choose the second time:

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g274/Simguy182/eyetest3.jpg

Make sure you click the little chain so it looks broken.

Finally have these settings for polar coords:

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g274/Simguy182/eyetest2.jpg

the ones i didnt circle dont affect the result if you change them or not

i hope this helps :)

bethbrit2001
1st Mar 2007, 4:58 AM
It certainly did!
*Looks for a very large Thank you button*
I REALLY appreciate your help, you've made my day.
I'll dedicate my first set of uploaded eyes to you both because you helped me so much.
Thanks!
:bunny: :lovestruc

kalynn06
1st Mar 2007, 3:11 PM
Wow I'm so glad you've got it figured out! Simguy, those are really useful tips. I've only made a few eyes and just for me for specific sims, but I'll definitely file those ideas away. I've used those filters for hair, but just don't play with eyes enough to have done much experimenting. I'm glad an eye expert popped in here. I'm more of a skinner and a general Photoshop to Gimp translator :)

Cograts Beth on finishing the eyes !

bethbrit2001
2nd Mar 2007, 2:15 AM
Lol, not yet unfortunately.
I seem to be doing SOMETHING wrong.
The eye turned out fine, but, it wasn't a full circle, it was like the above one i posted. but with the shape of the eye in it.
Will go through all your posts thoroughly once I've sorted my dfownloads folder out (i have 6,000 downloads and boyfriend isnt happy - his computer, lol)
If I'm still having problems, can I have your permission to go through step by step what I've been doing, and then maybe you could check it for me?
That goes to either of you :]

abbeyb21
3rd Mar 2007, 3:15 PM
I have been folowing the tutorial and the tips on this thread hand in hand and seem to be having a problem where noone else is. :help:
I'm trying to make eyes in gimp(of course). I get to the part where you have to fill in the area for the pupil, but the fill just wont do it. I select the area, hit the button and nothing happens!
Hope you can help! :D
Abbeyb21

kalynn06
5th Mar 2007, 1:07 AM
I select the area, hit the button and nothing happens!
Hope you can help! :D
Abbeyb21

This I can help with. I did the same thing, but just forgot to mention it. It's because you're trying to fill in an area that's not in the layer you're working on. Just go to "Layers" and click new layer. The default size should be the image size so you shouldn't have to mess with it. Working on this new layer you should be able to fill in your pupil area. Next go to "Image" and Merge Visible layers, so everything is on one layer again.

Beth, hopefully everything is coming along well and there haven't been any snags. :)

Kalynn

bethbrit2001
5th Mar 2007, 4:51 PM
I've left it for now and have moved on to other things.
Will probably try again another time, for now am playing Seasons and learning more on recolouring clothes.
Thanks for your help though Kay :]

bethbrit2001
11th Mar 2007, 3:46 AM
Right!
It's still not working for me, so I shall be going through everything I do step by step, so that you can check to see what I'm doing wrong.

Okay, well obviously I did the size of the canvas
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/1.jpg

and then I zoomed in
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/2.jpg

Then I did the colours, adding a layer between each colour, and then merged them at the end
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/3.jpg
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/4.jpg

Then I did the wind distort
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/5.jpg
I inverted it like it said in the tute, and it turned out like this
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/6.jpg

I then feathered each side like so
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/7.jpg
and then lowered the brightness on each side, in the same way the tute did it

I then changed the canvas size to this
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/8.jpg

and this is the result i got
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/9.jpg

I added the new layer (see prev pic, and did the pupil bit, like this)
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/10.jpg

When changing the canvas size back, this is what I put in the boxes
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/11.jpg

and this is the result i got, dont know if it's right?
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/12.jpg

I rotated the picture and it looked like this
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/13.jpg

and then i polarise it, but as you can see, it already looks wrong
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/14.jpg

and so it is
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/15.jpg

Please help you guys :[

kalynn06
11th Mar 2007, 4:56 AM
You posted this just as I was checking messages.

Right!
I then changed the canvas size to this
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/8.jpg

and this is the result i got
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/bethbrit2001/9.jpg
[

This is the only potential problem a cursory scan of these gives me. Your aspect ratio is locked when you resize the canvas, but the height should be left alone. I think this could cause the problem your seeing, but I didn't actually try to replicate it. I'll take a better look later if this doesn't fix it or if someone smarter than me doesn't figure it out first. (which is very likely) :)

Good Luck!

Kalynn

CrowsMan
14th May 2007, 10:00 AM
Thanks alot kaylnn06 for the conversion of words to make it make possible to understand, you saved me hours. :)

manat100
16th May 2007, 9:49 PM
i have any idea why dosent one of you guys/girls rewirte the tutoral for the gimp all the info is here in this thred?

holly.95.sims
22nd May 2007, 3:59 PM
where can I download gimp 2?

tiggerypum
22nd May 2007, 8:02 PM
holly.95.sims

Use GOOGLE

dawn1981
28th Nov 2007, 7:52 AM
where can I download gimp 2?


http://www.gimp.org/windows/

there you go i hope it helps :|

Josientj
8th Mar 2008, 2:54 PM
Great tute! :)
But, i'm having a problem with the invert-thingey.
I have the dutch GIMP, so some things have different names and when i go to layers i can't find 'colors' . So i even can't find 'invert'.
heeeelp me =D

bethbrit2001
15th Mar 2008, 3:21 PM
Here you go Josien, it should be along the lines of this :]

rae13489
10th Jun 2008, 4:56 AM
Lol, not yet unfortunately.
I seem to be doing SOMETHING wrong.
The eye turned out fine, but, it wasn't a full circle, it was like the above one i posted. but with the shape of the eye in it.
Will go through all your posts thoroughly once I've sorted my dfownloads folder out (i have 6,000 downloads and boyfriend isnt happy - his computer, lol)
If I'm still having problems, can I have your permission to go through step by step what I've been doing, and then maybe you could check it for me?
That goes to either of you :]

I found the solution!!!!! :rofl: I am soooo happy!! After playing around with Gimp trying to figure out what was wrong I found the solution. What you do is when you are resizing the canvas for the 2nd time you do the same thing Simguy said except on his there is not an option for Layers(but there seems to be on version 2) but if you have the option you have to choose resize-all layers. You then follow the rest of the steps and wha-la a perfect circle!!!

orca144
14th Jul 2008, 7:55 AM
Hey i made my eye but i have no idea how to import it. Please Help me?

sleepingbeauty
18th Jul 2008, 6:09 AM
I'm in the same boat as orca144

cthru
18th Jul 2008, 7:45 AM
When you've made the eyeball,open Bodyshop,go to start new project-genetics-eye-choose an eye color
(you should better choose one of the defaults,
so that you do it all on your own,but if you don't intend to upload it,
custom eyes with realistic scleras can be more usefull sometimes.
-I'd stick to the defaults,though!)
Export it.
Open the project on your graphics program and copy-paste your eyeball there.
Adjust it so that the lighting seems realistic,
save every now and then and check how it looks in bodyshop.
When you're sure it looks fine,try adding some shading to make the eye look
more realistic.
Hope I helped!