Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 16th Aug 2016 at 3:46 PM
Default Adding a cost to interactions
I'm pretty much a total noob when it comes to modding anything beyond xml tuning or changing strings. I've been trying to learn the basics of script modding to help me puzzle it out on my own, but I'm getting nowhere.

Basically, my main goal is to make my sims' lives harder (always my goal) by making babies/toddlers more financially draining. I'd like to find some way to add an automatic deduction from the family funds whenever a baby or toddler is fed with a bottle, and whenever a diaper is changed (similar to 'pay bills'). I assume that doing this would involve changing the interactions themselves, which is why I thought of scripting.

Like I said, my modding experience is limited to loading up game files in S3PE and either tuning values, string tables, or copy and pasting code that someone else has come up with. I did make an attempt I was sure would work, involving adding a line of code that added a 'value' to the 'give bottle' interaction. Needless to say, it didn't work. It did nothing, actually. My game ignored it completely

If anyone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome! I'd really like to expand my modding skills because every time I play I think of some other way I'd like to torture my sims :D
Advertisement
Instructor
#2 Old 16th Aug 2016 at 10:29 PM
This is would be a pretty cool thing to have in the game.

It's probably going to be a scripting mod. Start by looking at the "Getting Started" portion of this tutorial to load up the game's libraries and use Reflector (or ILSpy or dnSpy) to inspect the interactions you want to modify. Prior knowledge of C# is useful.

Good luck!
Mad Poster
#3 Old 17th Aug 2016 at 6:02 AM