Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 5th Mar 2015 at 3:47 PM
Default Problem with Milkshape/align normals
I'm working on this hair

and I'm pretty much done assigning the bones, extra data, etc. but when it comes to making the other LODs, I'm stuck. I know how to use the Directx mesh tool and everything, but whenever I click "Align Normals" on the new model, this happens

(yuck)
I'm not sure what's wrong...I'm pretty sure I installed the plugin correctly, and I have auto smooth turned off. It doesn't make much of a difference when I apply texture either:

I'm pretty new to hair/conversions/meshing in general, but I'm trying to learn as much as I can and I don't plan on giving up, so please don't brush me off if this is some simple beginner's error.

I also have Autodesk 3ds Max 2014, so if there's a better way to make LODs that can preserve more detail, I'd love to hear about that too. haha
Advertisement
Née whiterider
retired moderator
#2 Old 5th Mar 2015 at 6:15 PM
It looks like you're aligning normals with both the main group and the undersides selected. You'll need to hide the undersides before aligning normals. If you haven't still got the undersides in a separate group, you may be in trouble.

What I lack in decorum, I make up for with an absence of tact.
Test Subject
Original Poster
#3 Old 5th Mar 2015 at 10:58 PM
Quote: Originally posted by Nysha
It looks like you're aligning normals with both the main group and the undersides selected. You'll need to hide the undersides before aligning normals. If you haven't still got the undersides in a separate group, you may be in trouble.