Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Nov 2016 at 1:31 AM
Default Sims 3 newbie; barrage of questions!
Hi. Like the thread title says, I'm a newbie to Sims 3 and I have several questions. One of them needs a little backstory: at my house we have two computers. Mine has Windows 7 and can play and run Sims 1 and 2 (which my mom and I both love), but my mom's has Windows 8 and she's had a lot of trouble trying to run and play them. She bought Sims 3- it was a nice deal; it came bundled with Late Night (which I haven't installed yet) and High-End Loft Stuff (which I probably never will install; it's not to either of our tastes). I installed the base game for her, but since I'm her Sims IT person she'd rather I get a good handle on the game and have the needed hacks installed before she starts playing it.

(And yes, I've read the stickied "I just bought the game, what mods do I absolutely need?" thread and have installed Nraas' Overwatch, ErrorTrap, and MasterController, although I don't really know what I'm doing with them yet. I can do a few things with MasterController, like loading up the CAS screen to edit sims, which is very helpful- I don't like what EAxis did with Gunther and Cornelia Goth, for example! I haven't installed StoryProgression; it just seems like a big headache that I don't want to mess with yet, so I turned aging off and Maxis story progression off.)

I'm really enjoying it, especially after installing that coffee hack! But one of the problems is my mom is overwhelmed with the whole idea of the game, so, question one:

1. How would you ease someone into playing Sims 3 and how would you make it as simple as possible?