Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 24th Mar 2010 at 9:36 AM
Default Question About TS2 to TS3 Conversions
Ok, one step I am really not understanding is how you get from your TS3 cloned mesh to the TS2 mesh you want to convert in milkshape.

I've decompiled the MLOD and MODL files. I imported the .s3asc file via Wes Howes Sims3 Object Import. I was using the Garden Gnome as my clone object to modify. I get it open, see the two groups.. and then I have no idea how to progress. I have tried to import the Sims2Mesh over it but that renders an error and then when I try to recompile later it does not work. I've read two other tutorials but can't seem to find the answer. I'm new to all this and apologize if this is a dummy question but... I need help
Advertisement
Instructor
#2 Old 24th Mar 2010 at 10:12 AM
When you say "Sims2Mesh" in what format do you mean? Is it in .obj? Because that should work... Could you list the steps, stating what you do in detail? So we can see if you miss a little step somewhere.
I hear you though, converting needs so many little steps to be done right that it's easy to overlook one.
But we need more information: are you converting an object, body mesh (this needs other ways) or hair mesh (needs even another way)?

This space intentionally left blank...
Field Researcher
#3 Old 24th Mar 2010 at 10:22 AM
I'm guessing it's an object as RD's cloned the gardengnome in TS3. Did you extract the TS2 object using SimPE and saving the .obj and .png files?

http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=372692 is good place to start, but you can also have a look at the TS2 meshing tutorials, because they discuss the extraction of objects there as well.
Inventor
#4 Old 24th Mar 2010 at 10:29 AM