Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 19th Sep 2010 at 7:18 PM
Default Beginner Sims 3 Creator's Question
OK, so first off, this whole question probably seems silly to those who are into creating for some time, but I'm a beginner so please bear with me (:

I have just got into creating TS3 stuff, so far I've only been creating clothing and shoe meshes (that use the cloned item's textures). I use CTU and Milkshape for doing this.

I tried searching on this site (and did a Google search too, just in case) for a tutorial that would explain how to create own textures for a new mesh, but haven't really found what I was looking for.

I want to know, how to create new texture for a new mesh? So I could, let's say, re-draw fabric folds and stuff, and also change parts for different patterns. By that, I mean, if the original texture was only made for let's say 2 channels, how can I make one to have 3 different channels? Also, how about changing alpha?

The only good tutorial on this I found for TSR Workshop. But I'm pretty sure it's also possible to be done with CTU, just someone needs to point me in the right direction so I know how to.

I DO know how to change default patterns that show in CAS to an existing texture, but I want to know about actually changing the texture and adding channels. BTW, I use GIMP and Photoshop (I have GIMP on my laptop which I'm currently working with meshes on, and PS on my desktop computer) for graphics editing, and I'm quite fluent with the graphics editing, so I don't need a step-by-step guide on editing, but more of a 'how to' instructions.

Also, I apologize if something similar has already been explained, I just can't seem to find it. If it's been posted already, please, give me a link since I can't seem to find it myself.
Advertisement