Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 31st Jul 2008 at 2:41 AM Last edited by Charisa1114 : 26th Oct 2008 at 7:43 PM.
Default Updated Tutorial for making new flooring & walls with SimPE
This tutorial is for anyone wishing to edit a Maxis wall or floor or for anyone who cannot use HomeCrafter. It can also be used as a reference for anyone who wishes to edit bump maps. ***Any floor or wall made this way will not show up in HomeCrafter!!! They will still work in game though. If you wish to make a floor or wall that is HomeCrafter friendly, follow the second part of this tutorial. I recomend using Part 2 of the tutorial if you have Homecrafter available, so that way if someone downloads your floor or wall it will show up in their Homecrafter.***

I have never done a tutorial before, so bare with me. This is a work in progress. If you find anything incorrect, please notify me and I will fix it. For the purposes of this tutorial we will be taking a Maxis carpet and changing the shade. A special thank you to Pixelhate, Inge Jones, and Jasana_BugBreeder for their input!!!

What you will need: SimPE & A texture editing program like Photoshop. If you don't have Photoshop I recommend you try Gimp, it is free. You will also need to make sure you have the NVidia DDS utilities plug in for Sim PE installed. You can start this process by doing the following if you have not already done so: "To set preferences and to download and install NVIDIA DDS Tools open Preferences > System Folders under Extras in the main menu."

Part 1
1. First open SimPE. Click on Extra and then Preferences. Click on the SimPE Settings tab on the side. Make sure that advanced mode is checked and click ok. You may need to restart SimPE at this point to insure that the changes take effect if it was not already checked.