Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 15th Feb 2015 at 10:22 AM
Default Business Strategies
So, I recently started playing businesses (despite having OFB since it was initially released, but I never really got that much into it). I'm currently starting with the premade families who own businesses but I do plan to make most of the Megahood businesses Sim-owned at some point. Now my question is, how to get businesses to gain rating and make a solid profit, enough to fund the family and employees?

Now, I'm not looking to do any of the unusual businesses, just the normal ones - shop, beauty salon, bakery, restaurant, etc. I think the ones with the ticket machine is pretty straight-forward: build a lot with many motive-satisfying objects, and charge money for it. Right? But what about the others, especially if you're starting on low money and low/none badges? I played the bakery for a whole Sim day and managed to sell ONE cake.

So, how do you play your businesses to make them profitable for the family, especially starting out with low funds? I have some Sims who want 5 top-level businesses and frankly even one sounds impossible for me
Advertisement
Needs Coffee
retired moderator
#2 Old 15th Feb 2015 at 11:44 AM
If you don't mind the missing pictures here is my bakery tutorial: http://joandsarah.livejournal.com/tag/tutorial scroll down. A bakery can be easy or quite hard and then like I say in the tutorial is the ridiculous-aka The Bluewater Bakery. It was obviously designed by someone who hadn't a clue. Don't play it as is. Also all the cakes you sell will be bad, so that cake if it came with the place will be off if a playable bought it.