Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 19th Oct 2014 at 10:49 AM
Default Help buying new computer
So my current computer seems to be just at the end of it's life finally. The hard drive is completely full, it is slow, won't play any games etc. I'm looking to get a new computer and I'm not very good at all the computer tech stuff so I need help with what to buy.I have read all the topics and guides and stuff but none of it really makes any sense to me.
I will be using the computer for games likes sims 3 & 4, lots photos, lots of music, lots of videos, and general desktop publishing like MS Word etc. The photos, music & videos take up about 4/5ths of my hard drive.
I'd prefer a fully built computer and not something I have to custom build myself or buy parts separately. I'm not entirely sure of my budget but the cheaper the better. I live in Brisbane, Australia. I'm not sure exactly what specs I should be posting but I went to 'My Computer' > 'Properties' and these are what is listed;
Microsoft Windows XP
Professional Vers 2002 Service Pack 3
Dell Vostro 2205
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU
2.93GHz, 3.00GB RAM
Hard drive capacity: 465GB

Any help would be greatly appreciated
Advertisement
Scholar
#2 Old 21st Oct 2014 at 4:56 AM
I don't know what computer stores there are in Brisbane, so I can't tell exactly where out go and exactly what to buy. I can however give you a good idea of what you should look for. Once you find something that looks a bit like what we've talked about here, post the link and we'll check it out and tell you if we think its a good buy.