Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Alchemist
Original Poster
#1 Old 19th Mar 2016 at 6:21 PM
Default Editing SIMGEOM files in Blender?
Disclaimer: I'm a noob at meshing, currrently relying on the tutorials here to learn.

I already have the .simgeom files of the CAS part (a top) I want to edit, cleanly extracted with S3PE.
Downloaded Blender v2.76, wanted to get the plugins to be able to open them in Blender, but ran into an issue:
http://modthesims.info/t/355471 - plugins seem to be good only for Blender 2.4.
http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=443780 - plugins are also outdated and, apparently, abandoned.

I've looked all over the place for more info, but I can't find anything useful on the topic. I can't even open the .simgeoms; with GEOM enabled, I get a line 131 and 44 error, with RIG enabled I get even more errors.

So my questions are:
1. Is there anything I'm missing in getting this to work?
2. Do I have to downgrade to 2.63 (which some people in that thread apparently also had problems with), or pick another program entirely?

Thank you for your time.

Tumblr - more downloads! ◾ CC reuploads / creator backupsTS3 CAS Conversion Catalog - for basegame, EP, SP, and Store clothing!
Advertisement
Virtual gardener
staff: administrator
#2 Old 19th Mar 2016 at 6:52 PM
Blender and the sims 3 plugin always crash on me. I have only successfully imported and exported something only once. Which you can do (what I usually do) Is in TSRW, export the mesh you want as a obj. then your export it when you're done and finish it in Milkshape. There are a lot of people who uses 3DS Max when it comes to meshing and plugins because in Blender, they're just not stable enough to actually work. Which is a shame. The only plugin that seems to work for me is the plugins for poses.