Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 2nd Jan 2017 at 7:50 PM
Default Saving game screen never stops "spinning"; sims3.backup folders not being created!
Hi. First of all, I posted a thread in the Sims 3 general forum a while ago about how I'm new to this game and am sharing it with my mom on her computer. I'm sorry that I haven't been able to respond to that; I've been having some problems.

Now, we're both playing TS3 and each have our own worlds. Whenever we save the game, it never creates a sims3.backup folder- just "Sunset Valley.sims3," for example. We've been using "save as," since I've heard that's the safest. This has been going on for a little while now. For a couple days, my mom's world created a backup folder, then stopped again. Neither one of us knows why this started, or why hers started and stopped again (mine never got to the point of making a backup folder).

Second, when we save the game, often it gets to the "saving" screen... and never finishes. The little circle/spiral/whatever never stops spinning, and we have to minimize the game and close it manually. We don't know why this is happening, either.

I've deleted CasPartCache.package, compositorCache.package, scriptCache.package, simCompositorCache.package, and socialCache.package. Didn't work. I removed all the CC, and it still didn't make backup folders. I regenerated the Sims 3 folder ("Step 3: Rename User Files"). Nope. Since the game isn't crashing, I didn't do the Crashing Checklist; it didn't seem like it would apply to this situation.

Here are my system specs (a potential problem: I got the message "Do you want to allow DxDiag to check if your drivers are digitally signed....", and clicked "No" without thinking, and don't know how to get it back. Again, I'm not sure if this is a problem or not.):