Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 26th Jul 2016 at 9:32 AM

This user has the following games installed:

Sims 2, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Default Installing earlier expansions after later ones
I have the base game and only the Free Time expansion. I've been playing for a few years, but I kept thinking there was no point getting all the expansions when it's such an old game, surely I would lose interest in it and move on. That hasn't happened, and now I've discovered the joys of custom content which has given me a whole new burst of interest in playing! Now I'm wishing my sims could do all the other fun things like drive their own cars and grow food.

I've read that you should install the expansions in order, but that's when installing everything from scratch. Can I add earlier expansions to my current game? Or will that destroy my hood, and I should instead revert to the backup from before Free Time - a couple of sim generations ago? I don't want to have to give up my current families and all their history.

The expansions I'm most interested in are Nightlife and Seasons; I don't think I really need the rest. Is it safe to install them and keep playing my hood? Would I need to start with the base game and install Nightlife and Seasons and then re-add Free Time? Of course I'd back everything up properly before trying anything.
Advertisement
Mad Poster
#2 Old 26th Jul 2016 at 9:46 AM
You can just install them, in my experience. The Seasons hood (Riverblossom Hills) and the functions of the ep's should simply be added to your game.
Make a backup of your hood, just to be sure.
Needs Coffee
retired moderator
#3 Old 26th Jul 2016 at 9:58 AM