Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 10th Mar 2010 at 1:12 AM Last edited by pappy02us : 10th Mar 2010 at 1:24 AM.
proof of concept project
I am new to meshes and texture for the Sims 3. I am trying too see if you can have multi layer clothing like a wrap over a bathing suit. So I started by using in game meshes before I really got into the work of starting from scratch. What I have done so far is I used the short skirt and have been trying to get a different color for the legs under it. Well I have been like 99% successful. I have combined a legs mesh with the skirt with Milkshape, textured both sides of the skirt, remapped the UV map to get the recolor-able layers on the legs and skirt, edited the mask and multiplier, imported into TSR workshop and exported it to a .sims3pack. I then converted it to a .package file with Multi-installer, I did this for easier removal of older/bad versions. And this is where I am stuck the game will start and run fine but it crashes to the desktop when I try to put it on a sim. I can open the CAS and select all categories except bottoms where it is. So now my question is can the game even do multi-layered clothing and I messed something up or did I just waste my time.
Advertisement
Sockpuppet
#2 Old 10th Mar 2010 at 1:30 PM
Yes, you can make multilayered meshes.
If you add a layer to the base GEOMmesh(lod1) make sure you do the same for its morphs.(then do the whole story again for the lod2 and 3 GEOMS)
When you have added a layer to the basemesh and its morphs you need to renumber the vertID's and build new Bgeo files for it.
Here is some info you might need: http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=392850
Test Subject
Original Poster
#3 Old 10th Mar 2010 at 6:13 PM