Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 16th Aug 2011 at 5:18 PM
Default Is there a way to copy bone assignments from different meshes onto a new mesh?
Hi everyone, I've just started learning to mod The Sims 3. All I've made so far is a couple of skintones, some makeup, and recently, a simple accessory. I'm still pretty new at this.

Anyways, my most recent endeavor was to create a new outfit based on a certain character's outfit from a video game. I used about four different meshes to make it look right. Everything looks fine, but when I import the .obj into Milkshape, none of the vertices are assigned to bones! I guess importing and editing in Blender messed everything up...

Is there a way to copy bone assignments from the original meshes onto the new mesh? For example, using leg assignments from one, and hands from another, all on the new mesh?

I'm terrible with Milkshape, and I think it would be extremely difficult for me to assign every vertex one by one. I used Blender because I thought it would save me time learning Milkshape, but it seems to have made things harder...

I've made an acessory that I've had to make assignments for, but that was easy, because it only had two seperate pieces with no blending in between. assigning vertices for a full-body outfit however, seems like it would take forever!

Can anyone lend some advice?
Advertisement
Mother Function
retired moderator
#2 Old 17th Aug 2011 at 12:14 AM
Doing bone assignments is tedious, regardless what program you use. The only way I know how to "copy" bone assignments is to literally copy down the assignment numbers then transfer them to their corresponding part. I did a small outline of this is my (unfinished) tutorial here: http://simswiki.info/wiki.php?title...inish_-_Meshing