Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Top Secret Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 15th Apr 2011 at 8:34 AM
Default Mannequins?
Just an idea came through my mind. I think I had this in TS2 once. But I was able to put some sort of mannequins at my store's windows. I could edit their clothes, (maybe even skin tone, I forgot), and they just stand there in-animated, not worrying about mood/bladder/starvation.

I think I was able to achieve this in TS2 by having simbots and turn them off. I also used some kind of Game editor to edit my existing Neighborhood that essentially let me changed those androids into a human mesh, so they look human, feel human, but technically to the game they are a simbot.

Is this something remotely possible now in TS3?

I work for a living, but I don't necessarily live for a working.
Advertisement
Instructor
#2 Old 15th Apr 2011 at 9:05 AM
I haven't heard of such a thing for TS3. I think the only way to achieve your goal is to create a custom object, making CC. The fact that such an object would be decor and not functional in anyway would make it easier, since programming interactions won't be required.

I'm pretty sure the sim-bot approach is not the way to go. Sim-bots are actual sims, which go around, holding jobs, paying bills, etc. They can even become parents, but only if they themselves complete the "Mystery Invention" opportunity chain in the Inventing skill.

In TS3, sim bots can't be turned off. They can "short out," but when they do, they are hunched over while sparks are flying from their bodies.
Top Secret Researcher
Original Poster
#3 Old 15th Apr 2011 at 9:08 AM
Quote: Originally posted by BenC0722