Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#1 Old 21st Oct 2009 at 10:00 PM Last edited by ellacharm3d : 4th May 2010 at 6:25 PM. Reason: added Wiki link
Default Tutorial: Step-by-step Start-to-Finish HowTo mesh guide for TS3
Ok, here it is.
Something to join in the meshing tutorial frenzy, as cocomama has motivated us all to collaborate together with one goal in mind - A complete and comprehensive Meshing tutorial! yay! Go us.

Bear in mind I'm still new at meshing, so if there are errors or inconsistencies - do let me know. If you want to see certain sections, or improvements on other sections, e.g for the FAQ to go into its own file, etc. Maybe the narrative is too long (tl;dr; ?!?!) or it is too graphic-intensive? I applied it to myself as I wrote this as I hated to read documents where it tells me to do such and such but never explained why that setting was chosen or why those options were applied.

Do review and please provide feedback, suggestions and corrections. Criticisms also welcome.

=================================================
Objectives:
This tutorial takes you step-by-step through the process of creating a new table mesh from the original on the left (the 'Sunup Breakfast Table' named TableDiningQuaint) to the final outcome on the right.

Table of Contents:
70+ pages of graphics-intensive meshing guide, with each section bookmarked

I have adapted this based off of
  1. Deluxe_Design’s basic Tutorial: Meshing Objects in TS3,
  2. Jwoods’ (and Numenor, Lethe_s & IgnorantBliss) Sims 2 start to finish Object Creation Tutorial V 2.1 and
  3. WesHowe’s 3D Meshing tutorials from sims2wiki.info & www.customsims3.com (qns & ans in the forums)
  4. cocomama’s Making of : MODL and MLOD,