Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Top Secret Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Feb 2014 at 9:18 AM
Default Update Base game to latest patch first? Or install all EPs first?
I am surprised I am asking myself this question. It should be irrelevant in the perfect world. But with TS3, heavy consequences for the ignorant. I remember way back in the past it was imperative to do one of these first or else things will go terribly wrong. And I fail to find any info supporting that now. So ...

Update Base game to latest patch first? Or install all EPs first? Or at this day and age, it does not matter anymore?

I do have reference from:
http://www.carls-sims-3-guide.com/t...nstallorder.php

But I am not sure how old this is.

I work for a living, but I don't necessarily live for a working.
Advertisement
Scholar
#2 Old 6th Feb 2014 at 9:24 AM
IIRC, when you install an expansion, the game will ask you to patch the game, so I don't think it really matters.
world renowned whogivesafuckologist
retired moderator
#3 Old 6th Feb 2014 at 9:32 AM
When I reinstalled everything (except ITTF) not terribly long ago, I installed the base game, patched up to the patch level I wanted, and then installed all the EPs and that worked fine. If you don't, and just let it patch with each EP, it will only do it incrementally so you'll have to patch with each EP rather than it just saying "TS3 is up to date" and continuing. Either way should work, just one ends up being faster.

my simblr (sometimes nsfw)

“Dude, suckin’ at something is the first step to being sorta good at something.”
Panquecas, panquecas e mais panquecas.
Top Secret Researcher
Original Poster
#4 Old 6th Feb 2014 at 10:02 AM
Quote: Originally posted by juansfalcin
IIRC, when you install an expansion, the game will ask you to patch the game, so I don't think it really matters.