Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 30th Dec 2010 at 12:41 PM
Default Excessive shine, but not a specular problem
At least - this is not a specular TEXTURE problem. I have a thread at TSR and they have left this question pretty much alone. I will explain the problem - I work in TSRW and recently have tried to work with S3PE and S3OC with the plug in as I am far more visual than technical so bear with me. I am not very technical, but wish to understand the programming behind objects.

I have finally deduced what the problem is, but I don't have a fix. When creating an object - it can be any object (but this doesn't always apply to every object), though I noticed it first on paintings. In that case the Sunflower painting didn't have a problem, but it is a limited base. When adding a new mask with additional colors beyond what the original mesh has (if it has red or red and green and you add green and blue or blue) whatever area the new colors on the mask are added suddenly become excessively shiny.

I don't understand how this happens, but somehow TSRW generates something called a specular map. It is in the Materials Editor, under the main group (usually group_1) on the Mesh tab. If you look at what is in that file you'll see a specular map. Open that and whatever added color aligns exactly with this map and it is made white - which is shiny. It's like a merging of the mask and specular fields. Sadly this field is not editable. It exports a WST (workshop texture) and even if you delete the field and try to generate a new one it will not work and deleting it all together makes the shine an even bigger problem.