Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 1st Jan 2009 at 4:50 AM
Default Building a house with exact measurements?
Hi guys,

I really hope some of you can spare some time to help me out, and answer me this:

Me and Hubby are planning to redecorate our house in this brand new year and, seeing that I am the Alpha Female, I get to make most of the decisions.

However, maybe because I seriously lack describing skills, or because we have no I-totally-understand-what-you-mean-by-sandpaperish-walls connection, I thought I would design our house within The Sims 2, so I could show him my obviously brilliant plan.

Now I have a floor-plan of our house, with exact measurements of walls, windows and all that stuff, and seeing that I am not very good at guessing measurements, I was wondering if there is any way to build stuff with exact numbers.

Does, for example, anyone know how many meters (sorry, Europe here, I count in meters) one square is, in game?
Do the standard doors have a certain size?

Is there any way I could do this, or am I forced to just wing it?
I'm afraid it will all be very Extreme Home Makeover, and then be a total disaster when everything gets put into action, since I have the tendency to guess larger rather than smaller, which is probably why my Sims always start in a 2 bedroom house and end up in a 7 level The Burrow-like structure, with a bowling alley, party room and spa.

Any help would be highly appreciated!

Greets from Holland!

BTW: I have all expansion packs, if that is of any importance.
Advertisement
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
#2 Old 1st Jan 2009 at 10:04 AM