Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 16th Apr 2010 at 6:49 AM Last edited by delonariel : 16th Apr 2010 at 8:54 AM.
Default New mesh showing up black
Hi,
I've been trying to convert some objects from the sims 3 and I decided to start with the decorative fire tools. I cloned the basegame decorative urn statue and replaced it with the new mesh and it shows up in game just fine aside from the texture.

I've tried to import the png texture in simPE, update all sizes and commit-save, but as soon as I click away from the image, it turns black. When I open the object in the game it is completely black as well.

It's probably some tiny thing I've missed but this is my first time working with meshing so I'm not sure where I went wrong.

Thanks in advance
Attached files:
File Type: rar  teth_firetools.rar (41.0 KB, 8 downloads) - View custom content

~~like a dirty dog
Advertisement
Field Researcher
#2 Old 16th Apr 2010 at 7:02 AM
I've just tried importing a texture into your package and it worked fine.

What size is the PNG picture you're trying to import? You have an absolutely gigantic texture map in the package - 2048 x 2048 which is in NO WAY necessary for this kind of object. You should really reduce it to 256 x 256 (just delete the three largest ones). Then check that your PNG is the right size and try importing it again. If it has any kind of transparency in it remember to use DTX3 or DTX5.

Moune's Neighbourhood
If you need a cool place for your sims to chill out.
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#3 Old 16th Apr 2010 at 7:38 AM
Thank you for replying so quickly. The png is 128x128 lol. I tried resizing the largest ones to that size using the 'build' feature, but it only added more files.