Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 10th Jun 2010 at 9:50 AM
Problem with meshing and/or mapping...i think
so, to start off with, i'm new to the whole object creating get up, but i'm stumped and could really use some help...

i am trying to make a tree with roots and i made a pretty nice model in MilkShape, i used UVMapper and that just makes no sense what-so-ever. somewhere in between MilkShape and UVMapper, it gets screwed up a lot! when i upload it into the game, it's like there are some faces missing in the roots and the parts that represent the leaves are missing huge chunks (i have redone the foliage part about a dozen times by now and it just doesn't seem to turn out right through the uv map).

Then comes to the texture mapping part...holy crap! no matter how i put it through, it always seems to come out crazy! it would be awesome if someone can tell me how i'm screwing this up... :P

i'll put in the .obj file of my project so far...i had branches that i ended up taking out because i couldn't get the uv map to work right. i've redone the boughs a bunch and still can't figure out how to get it right...

oh, to kind of explain that file...i wanted to make a series of objects, mostly set pieces (trees, plants, decorations, etc...) as backgrounds for fairytales & such (brought on by the movie 'The Brothers Grimm'). i wanted to start with a series of tall, silvery trees with roots that if 'planted' on a slop, roots will show out of the ground and stuff...i'll be willing to take on a partner for this project! lol, i have hand drawn renderings as bases for my projects.
Attached files:
File Type: rar  FairytaleTree.rar (15.4 KB, 4 downloads) - View custom content
Advertisement
Field Researcher
#2 Old 10th Jun 2010 at 6:32 PM