Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Scholar
Original Poster
#1 Old 25th May 2020 at 12:53 PM
Default Hilary (American 50's Housewife)
Hi, I thought I should return to making a couple of female Sims, even though for some reason I can't get them right, and I thought it would be a good challenge to go for a certain aesthetic, hence this Sim who's meant to be a housewife from the 50's. I'm looking for feedback on the face and wardrobe. Thanks.
Screenshots
Advertisement
Staff - Moderator
staff: moderator
#2 Old 25th May 2020 at 2:14 PM
I think this looks like a great sim!
Mad Poster
#3 Old 25th May 2020 at 10:22 PM
I'm not an expert just because I've seen Mad Men twice, but do keep in mind that what we nowadays consider the stereotypical 50s is actually the early 1960s. Take a look at some 1940s fashion and see if you can find a middle ground between this and that. Then you'll have your 50s housewife.

insert signature here
( Join my dumb Discord server if you're into the whole procrastination thing. But like, maybe tomorrow. )
Mad Poster
#4 Old 25th May 2020 at 10:56 PM Last edited by daisylee : 26th May 2020 at 12:44 AM.
50s housewives did not wear dresses or skirts at home as a general rule. They wore to go "out" per se or for special days/dinners/events/whatever, Day to day wear was usually slacks/pants in winter and shorts in warm weather. It was only on TV that they wore the dresses almost all the time. And those skirt silhouettes are not typical 50s, but I know you can only use what you have.

As for her face, cannot comment as there is no look as there were millions of them, tens of millions. You cannot generalize what an entire nation of women look like.