PDA

View Full Version : Ensuring the longevity of a custom hood


NatteryakToad
31st Mar 2012, 10:42 AM
I was looking for somewhere for tips on how to ensure a custom hood doesn't die (both technical issues such as corruption and gameplay) and I couldn't find one, so I thought I'd start one.

When creating a new custom hood, what are the sorts of things you should do to avoid corruption and to keep the hood playable without resorting to inbreeding?

I'll start:

Don't delete sims or tombstones
Don't let playables marry other playables for the first few generations to ensure genetic diversity.

Anybody else got any tips?

TychoH
31st Mar 2012, 11:37 AM
http://modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=394352
http://simswiki.info/wiki.php?title=Game_Help:Avoiding_Hood_Corruption

There are lots of tips in these two threads :)

Gcgb53191
31st Mar 2012, 3:44 PM
Crap, Crap, Crap!

I didn't know about the tombstone thing before I installed my newest game >:(

NatteryakToad
1st Apr 2012, 9:01 AM
I did, but that didn't stop me deleting the House of Fallen Trees, which has graves in it, so I expect that's contibuted to the corruption of my hood, which is starting to die. I just want to make sure I do it properly next time.

Gcgb53191
1st Apr 2012, 3:49 PM
I did, but that didn't stop me deleting the House of Fallen Trees, which has graves in it, so I expect that's contibuted to the corruption of my hood, which is starting to die. I just want to make sure I do it properly next time.

Thast exactly where I messed up on :( Man, and I thought I did everything right this time ugh! lol

How long did it take for your game to start showing the corruption?

ileeeen
1st Apr 2012, 8:29 PM
You'll want to download and install cleaned up neighborhood templates, and use mods like notownieregen, antiredundancy. When the total number of sims in a neighborhood gets too high, this can cause problems. If you have multiple expansion packs, right off the bat some of them are going to add up to a hundred new townies (each!) to your hood.

http://www.moreawesomethanyou.com/smf/index.php/topic,5861.0.html
http://www.moreawesomethanyou.com/smf/index.php/topic,4306.0.html

I have also heard that you should delete groups.cache frequently. I haven't tried it, although without doing it I have had two hood get corrupted with missing lots, with no other possible cause that I know of.

sweetbaby160
2nd Apr 2012, 3:03 AM
I did, but that didn't stop me deleting the House of Fallen Trees, which has graves in it, so I expect that's contibuted to the corruption of my hood, which is starting to die. I just want to make sure I do it properly next time.

oh no!! I never even NOTICED that house had graves in it!!! I've got a copy in the lot bin, is that going to bork everything?

NatteryakToad
2nd Apr 2012, 8:47 AM
How long did it take for your game to start showing the corruption?

I'm not sure exactly how long ago I did it - about a month ago I think. But around the same time I also accidently moved an occupied lot into the lot bin when I only meant to move the family out, so that will have contributed to the corruption too.

It's still pretty much playable at the moment - I've had a couple of lots on which the phone line is jammed, but I've managed to create in game reasons for the sims moving out of them. I also got a load of "reference to tree tree perameter when there is no tree" error messages on one lot, but after I replaced the beds for some reason they stopped.

i-came-to-win
4th Apr 2012, 1:46 AM
Yes, although I HATE marrying into the Townies. They are so vanilla and ugly... erg. I usually have my neighborhood marry into itself...lol.

JDacapo
4th Apr 2012, 2:51 AM
I don't mind marrying townies - some are quite cute! Brandon Lillard is very attractive and makes some cute babies! He looks funny in the kilt but he's a real sweetie! Also, I like the social townies and stuff, like the techs - some are very nice-looking, and the bohemians ain't half-bad!