PDA

View Full Version : Fixing the "Cloud Llama" swatch bug


Srikandi
1st Sep 2014, 3:04 AM
Here is a short tutorial on how to fix the "Cloud Llama" swatch issue that can arise when editing items created initially with an earlier version of Color Magic (<0.5). The bug causes your item's swatch to be replaced by an error image, which looks like a fluffy gray and white llama. Instructions lifted directly from Grant's post here: http://forums.thesims.com/en_US/discussion/775566/custom-swatch-help#latest ; it's completely his fix, not mine ;) (BTW the issue is apparently related to the fact that the newer versions of CM incorporate information provided by EA to Grant regarding how the high bit should be set in the TGI.)

Step 1: Open the package in S4PE and click on the CASP entry. Scroll down on the right hand side until you see unknown5

http://sims4.the-prof.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Tutor1.jpg

Make note of the number where I've circled in red. In my case it is 0A.

Step 2: Now scroll clear to the bottom of the right hand side. Find the entry that corresponds to the number from above.

http://sims4.the-prof.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Tutor2.jpg

In this case it is line [A]. Make note of the middle (group) and end (instance) parts of that line. In this case it would be group 0x00000000, instance 0xCF4A095CD51895B1.

Step 3: Finally, double click on the entry with _IMG tag.

http://sims4.the-prof.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Tutor3.jpg

Now change the two circled entries to match the information from Step 2.

Save the package and you should be able to see the right swatch.

--Grant

CmarNYC
4th Sep 2014, 8:11 PM
I've found that the swatches will not work if the group ID is not 0x00000000, even if it matches the CASP TGI entry.

granthes
4th Sep 2014, 8:49 PM
I've found that the swatches will not work if the group ID is not 0x00000000, even if it matches the CASP TGI entry.

LOL

Glad to hear it. I'll be updating Color Magic this weekend and I'll make that change there...

Of course, SimGuruModSquad didn't happen to mention that when he told me about the group ID needing to be 0x80000000 :P

CmarNYC
4th Sep 2014, 9:07 PM
Don't be hard on SimGuruModSquad - as a former pro programmer I know software never works exactly the way you expect! But yes, it's pretty LOL-worthy.

CmarNYC
13th Jan 2015, 12:08 AM
Sorry for the double post, but here's a quick update for the newer versions of s4pe which make this fix a lot easier.

The swatch image link is now listed separately and called the VariantThumbnailKey. The TGI link it points to is displayed along with the index into the TGI list at the end of the CASP.

http://thumbs.modthesims.info/getimage.php?file=1496088

Just find the swatch icon image as described above (there may be more than one if you have more than CASP, so find the right one for the color the CASP is for), double-click it, and change the group ID and (if necessary) instance ID to match the last two numbers in the link displayed for the VariantThumbnailKey, as explained with a picture in the first post of this thread.